Skip to main content

Serengeti Wins! – Africa’s Leading National Park

By November 16, 2020August 31st, 2021Tanzania, Safari

Just last week, the 27th World Travel Awards (WTA) announced Tanzania’s Serengeti National Park as Africa’s number one national park. Serengeti edged out other nominees like Kenya’s Maasai Mara, South Africa’s Kruger National Park and Botswana’s Central Kalahari Game Reserve, maintaining the award for the second year in a row.

These results follow a yearlong search for the world’s top travel tourism and hospitality brands. Votes were cast by travel industry professionals and the public. Nominees that gathered the most votes determined the winners. Graham Cooke, Founder of WTA says “Our winners represent the best of Africa’s tourism and travel sector and my congratulations to them. They have all displayed remarkable resilience in a year of unprecedented challenges.” He adds, “The World Travel Awards 2020 program received a record number of votes cast by the public. This shows that the appetite for travel and tourism has never been stronger and bodes well for the industry’s future as the global recovery begins.”

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania’s pride and glory, is a designated World Heritage Site, home to the world’s largest mammal migration. The award highlights Tanzania’s conservation efforts as early as 1951 when it was gazetted a park. “The Serengeti speaks for itself and with good reason, not only the famous event of more than 1.5 million wildebeest migration through its plains and woodlands but also unique landscape and other spectacular wildlife.” Pascal Shelutete, Senior Assistant Conservation Commissioner. We host beautiful safaris through this award-winning park year-round; start planning an adventure with us by looking through some of our sample safari itineraries.

Serengeti’s custodian, Tanzania National Parks, acknowledges support from the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania, the citizens of Tanzania, tourism stakeholders and all those who took their time to vote.

Tanzania also won the following categories:

Africa’s Leading Luxury Safari Lodge – Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Africa’s Leading All-inclusive Resort – Hotel La Gemma Dell’Est
Africa’s Leading Luxury Island – Thanda Island
Africa’s Leading Cruise Port – Port of Dar es Salaam
Africa’s Leading Private Island – Chapwani Private Island

Leave a Reply

Back to top